Creating a Website When You Don’t Know Code

creatring a website

I studied web design and code while I was in school, but I still find it difficult to say I create websites.  If it were not for my friend/web coder Shawn Lowe, I would be lost.  Creating a website is complex and can sometimes require learning a new skill.

With so many free ways to create a website, I could not begin to tell you which one is right for you, but I can provide you some things to think about when creating your online portfolio.  If you need some direction on a starting point, I found this great post by Beautifullife on website builders, 15 Best Free Website Builders. Since I use WordPress.com for my blog and AIGA, and recruited the help of Shawn to code my website, I have not personally used these webbuilders, so I cannot recommend one option over another, I can only provide information.

Ryan @ Web Eminence demonstrates the difference between a website builder and WordPress.

Roberto Blake shares what to think about when creating  your web portfolio.

Again Karen Kavett shares her thoughts on online portfolio

If you want to use WordPress there are many tutorials you can employ, here some quick videos to help.

Designing for the web is not the same as coding for the web, the difference between the two is similar to the difference between a cook and a baker.  So even if you do not feel comfortable coding, you do not have to be afraid of the web.  Here are some links I have used to help me with web design and coding:

W3school
W3Schools is a web developers site, with tutorials and references on web development languages such as HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, SQL, and JQuery, covering most aspects of web programming.

A list Apart
For People Who Make Websites
A List Apart (ISSN: 1534-0295) explores the design, development, and meaning of web content, with a special focus on web standards and best practices.

WordPress Support/Help for WordPress.com

WordPress.org
A massive site full of articles and forums as well as extensive documentation of all WordPress features that is relatively easy to read and learn from.

Css-Tricks
CSS-Tricks launched July 4th, 2007. It used to be, believe it or not, primarily about CSS! Over the years, despite the hokey name, CSS-Tricks has come to become a site about all things web design and development.

Don’t Fear the Internet
A site created by Jessica Hische and Russ Maschmeyer to teach basic HTML and CSS to Non-Web Designers.

Themeforest
A site I use to look for templates.

Leave a Reply

